MSU-Meridian Faculty Recognized

The Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President and the MSU Alumni Association hosted the 2014 Faculty Awards and Recognition reception on Thursday, May 1 in the John Grisham Room of Mitchell Memorial Library in Starkville.  The following faculty members at MSU-Meridian were recognized at the event:

Dr. Sallie Harper, Associate Professor Elementary Education, was recognized for being the Lead Principal Investigator on an IHL grant totaling $90,000.  The grant was to train teachers in infuse literacy into the curriculum based on Common Core State Standards.  The main goal of the project, 4-C: Common Core Literacy Curriculum Connections, was to improve teaching and learning literacy in order to raise student achievement in core academic subjects. The grant team held a 20-day summer institute for 24 middle school teachers (grades 6-8) with the Meridian Public School District.  

Dr. Lindon Ratliff, Assistant Professor Secondary Education, was recognized for being elected Co-editor of the Mississippi Council for Social Studies peer reviewed journal and chosen as a member of the review board for The Journal of Social Studies Research (Flagship journal with 10% acceptance rate).

Dr. Joshua Watson, Associate Professor Clinical Mental Health Counseling, was recognized as Editor of the Journal of College Counseling (JCC), a peer reviewed journal of the American College Counseling Association which is a division of the American Counseling Association.  Under Dr. Watson's leadership as editor, the JCC has become the fastest growing journal in the American Counseling Association list of journals.

Dr. Darren Wozny, Associate Professor Clinical Mental Health Counseling, was recognized as the treasurer of the Mississippi Counseling Association.  The Mississippi Counseling Association is a statewide network of over 1000 school and mental health counselors.

← Back